In my last 4 years…

I recently had the opportunity to read the application essay I submitted when I applied to UMBC. I was embarrassed for myself. Now, you need to understand when I started college Twitter and Instagram had not become ‘a thing’. A lot has changed since I started college for myself and for the world.

Now, I am in my senior year of college, about to turn 22 and I look back on my Freshmen year as a very different person. Not for worse, I think, but for better. In my four years here I have grown and learned so much and realized sometimes I don’t know anything at all. Being at this stage in my life sometimes makes me feel so old, and at other times so young. So I’ve decided to make a list of things that have happened to me during my 4 years of college that are shared experiences with many other seniors I know. These things may or may not happen to you in college, but if they do this is a good reminder that you are not alone.

In my last 4 years at UMBC I have…

walked into the wrong classroom

made the dean’s list

sat next to someone in class who turned out to be a really good friend

been a part of a student organization that is very dear to my heart

been a part of a student organization that another person finds ‘lame’

waved hello to people I don’t remember meeting, but pretended I remembered meeting them anyway

been in a group project that went horribly wrong

debated as a class assignment and kicked butt

eaten lunch alone

gone to many free pizza dinner events with friends

tried registering for a class and was not successful

used my student discount a lot

studied abroad

failed a test

All of these things have been a part of my college experience, for better or for worse, but definitely have shaped me into the person I am right now. All of these things, I tried to laugh about and hope you do too (even the failed test, you gotta remember what’s most important in life). I just received an 90% on my first quiz of my last semester at University, and it was a really difficult quiz that most people did not do so well. I’m feeling pretty good right now about this semester, but I know mistakes can happen at any time and my schooling is not over yet! Bring it on.

Leave a Reply

