Academics Abroad – Not Literally – Part 2

While the struggle of studying for midterms and keeping up grades is the same in Spain as it is in the United States for me, the academics and what I am learning outside the classroom is so different! Everything here is a grand cultural adventure! It is the most exciting life I have ever lived. Which life? It’s a life filled with not having internet for a week, learning how to go to the doctor in Spanish, losing your credit card and figuring out how to get it back, asking people to speak slowly, feeling like an outsider, finally feeling like I belong, then remembering why I don’t, eating dishes I don’t know how to pronounce, meeting new friends, beginning conversations with strangers, being cold because my apartment doesn’t have a heater, getting caught in the rain because I can’t afford an umbrella, laughing when I accidentally say a bad word in Spanish, laughing when the only word my Spanish friend knows in English is a bad word, staying up until 4am just like the locals, siesta, using public transportation, getting lost, finding a beautiful park, traveling for the weekend and returning to a place I feel is home, wishing my family and friends could experience all of this, learning that olive oil is a food group on the nutrition pyramid and that I should eat it 4 times a day, and finally ‘Dale la Vuelta a la Tortilla’.

The actual translation of the above phrase, as explained to me by host mother, is similar to the idea that you need to flip the Tortilla Espanola, which is made of potato and eggs (similar to flipping an omelet or egg). But the main message of the phrase is to turn around your attitude in a sense. The video below gives examples of famous people giving comedic examples. One example is the actor who plays Frodo (the guy from Lord of the Rings, correct me if I’m wrong) says “If you have lost your ring, dale la vuelta a la tortilla”. The meaning is even when things are going negatively or not as you planned, keep your head up. The video below is from a popular prime-time Spanish television show that I enjoy watching, although my host mom makes fun of me for it. In the video you will see many famous people you may recognize (my favorite is the backstreet boys).

These kinds of phrases, and the reason for why this phrase exists here in Spain is the education that I really love. I love that my real-life Spanish test is whether or not I can communicate with the store employees that I lost my credit card and whether or not I can get it back (I did by the way – totally passed the test). The education I am receiving during my study abroad experience goes beyond the classroom and into my daily life and need for survival. Sometimes, when my internet doesn’t work and I can’t find a place with wifi, I just remind myself of my newly learned Spanish phrase, Dale la Vuelta a la Tortilla.

Leave a Reply

